Working Mom…

That’s right! You read right. I am now a working mom! I thought I would stay-home, but life decided I need to be like that riveter chick and get on it!

Rosie the Riveter Inspired Women to Serve in World War II > U.S. DEPARTMENT  OF DEFENSE > Story
Imagine this is me flexing my baby carrying muscles 😎

So I guess the biggest news for you is I got a job. Thanks.

What only the moms will ask is, “How are you handling the separation from your child?” For now, I am ok since he is with his father. However, he will get really busy in the new year, so I have to find help in the form of a live in nanny 😰🥴. Unfortunately, that is a source of paranoia for me as I have seen and heard waaaaay too many stories of child abuse in the hands of hired help. The sad reality is, I still need the help. I just hope I am not one of those parents who is slow to notice odd behavior quirks in people. Any tips on the hiring process would be great.

The other reality is that we are still living with a virus that is being spread like juicy gossip😷. Probably it is gossip that is spreading it in the first place. So, on top of worrying about my child’s mental well-being, I also have to worry about my family’s physical well-being. I am toying with the thought of subjecting the person to a Covid test, but then I am left wondering where they will stay as they wait for results, as well as how much money will be invested into such an endeavor, and what will happen should the prospective employee turn out positive. 🤧

So, for my friends and relatives saying, “Just find someone so that you can settle,” it’s not a ‘just’ kinda situation. It’s an event of sorts that needs to be planned and well executed, for mine as well as your sake, because some of you are in the ‘at risk’ category, and I may not be able to deal with a medical situation that could be prevented by exercising some extra safety precautions🧐.

I work in a public organization, and that means that I cannot talk about my workplace unless in an advertising manner of sorts. All I can say is that I have met some lovely people here so far, and that has made settling into my job a lot easier than I expected, so bless them for that. Some like to get work done, and some like to gab😆. Any chance they get to regale me with some story or the other, they do. It’s interesting.

I am working as an administrative assistant, which in some places is a glorified secretary. Still, it’s not bad. I get to meet a lot of people, and in this job, a lot of the work involves relating with the people in your department and the organization at large, and not just paperwork and meetings.

My baby is doing well. We started him on solids last month and it’s going well so far. He may be ready for meat just in time for Christmas🍖🍗! No teeth yet, but by golly, we will gum our way through it!

Haven’t much to add to that, so I hope you have a great Christmas holiday, wherever you will be 🎄. Nairobi is pretty hot this year, so I am OK with a stay-cation.

Leave a comment