New Year, Same Me

Happy New Year! It’s 2024, I am still here and moving with life as it goes. I had hopes that the year would start out a certain way, but the things I was pushing for are yet to come to fruition. But I press on, because I know it will happen eventually.

Image: Courtesy


The month of January is one of contemplation for me for two reasons: one being it is the start of the calendar year, so obviously, new year resolutions. And the second is that January is the month when my dear mother passed on. So, I think about how the past year without her has been, what I have been able to do, what I can do next and areas of improvement, wither personally or professionally.

Image: Courtesy


This year was a bit different: I did not sit down to write resolutions, I just looked to see, what practical things can I start or do more of to improve myself, or my skill set? Do I need to write more? Do I need to be in more committees? Do I need to travel more? What about health management? And so on, and so forth.

Part of the reason is that there is a lot of transition that happens in January, whether it’s moving houses, kids starting or going back to school, new hires, new jobs or projects; a lot happens. So the “resolutions” get lost along the way. I was advised, don’t make resolutions for something you are not already working towards. An example: you want to change jobs, so you update your CV and apply for at least one opportunity each month. And if you have good networks, you can get multiple job alerts even per week. You want to lose weight; what is within your reach physically, financially and geographically? Think of things you can easily achieve, and as you hit the targets, make bigger ones. That will ensure your progress. Small steps count.

For me, I am working on my career and personal development. I am checking out the job scene, seeing if I need to revive skills that are getting dusty. I am journaling, reading, listening to audiobooks and podcasts. My son is starting school, so I am thinking about his brother, their future schools, what schools are in the area besides the pre-primary he will be attending. I am working on my marriage, working on my body, working on my finances, working on my faith. A lot of work, besides the 8-5.

It is interesting to note how as life progresses and we get more responsibilities, we get less rest. I recently resumed more from leave and I can honestly say I worked throughout my leave, because I had no nanny, so my husband and I were doing everything. The effect? My son had some crazy outbursts. They say kids behave the worst around people they are free with. He might be getting too comfortable, or he could be bored. Let’s see how that goes.

Image: Courtesy

I do not have any opinions on the current events in Kenya because I have not been keeping up with the madness. One minute you think you’re okay, then BAM! Increased fees here, new tax there, fuel prices, electricity, pension, housing, floods… You just feel harassed following the news. You have a nice day at home, then put on the news, can’t follow for more than 15 minutes. Although they put what they feel is important in those 15 minutes. Still, it’s tiring.

In summary, new year, same country, same me. My only hope is that there will be positive things to look forward to this year. For now, I am taking things a day at a time.

Leave a comment