Getting Back in The Game

So, it’s been a minute since my last post, which was talking about the Dusit D2 attack in Westlands, Nairobi and how Kenyans rose to the occasion to help with food and blood donations and offering up prayers for the people who were trapped in the hotel and business complex. Since that time, what has happened? Too much to remember, a lot of it not worth remembering.

On my part, not a lot has happened. I used to work in the media industry, then I stepped out a bit to help run the family business, plus where I was working had become rather difficult in terms of proper employment practices. People were being paid late, we were not getting our issues resolved, etc. So people started leaving, and I decided to leave then as well. Unfortunately, the company took my letter and exit forms, and left it at that. No payment, my pension is yet to be transferred and they won’t budge.

At the family business

As I have been grappling with this injustice, I decided to look for work elsewhere. In the last few years since I left, I think I was called for 2, maybe 3 interviews. It ended there. I am still trying, but it’s a bit harder now because I am heavy with child (more on that in another blog) and not sure the interviewers will take kindly to the fact that I will hardly finish probation before running to the hospital to begin my 3 month maternity leave. So I started thinking home-based. What can I do from home?

One obvious thing that came to mind was that I have a blog that has been dormant for a while, so I need to dust it off and start over. Maybe that will boost my visibility. Another thought was online writing and transcribing. PayPal has given me trou le so far but I will find a workaround. What about voiceover jobs? I was told I have a pretty good voice for radio, so I am looking at the people I know and whom I have worked with previously (some of you are my followers ๐Ÿ˜„). It feels late, but like my Dad always says, “You won’t know if you don’t try.”

I’ll not lie, it’s been tough knocking on doors and getting rejected or, worse, no responses. And there were times I was just tired of trying. However, I feel will be failing myself, my husband and our baby if I don’t at least try.

Of course my belly’s a lot bigger now

So, do I have it figured out? No, but I am working on it. With the trends of the nation, the uncertainty of future work prospects now that the world is facing the uncomfortable reality that is the Corona virus outbreak, and our nation the possibility of a referendum over what is becoming a divisive political agenda (by this I mean the BBI or Building Bridges Initiative), it’s getting more and more challenging to predict how work will happen in this country or elsewhere, should I decide to relocate.

As a Christian, I believe that God knows what is happening and why, so I am entrusting myself to him. To be honest, I never allowed myself to be this vulnerable on my blog before, and that is one reason why I have had a serious mind block. I couldn’t think beyond my state. I couldn’t see past my anger and disappointment. I can’t do that to myself anymore. I need a change of mindset. And if opening up and sharing a bit of myself again with you is what will help me get there, then so be it.

So, happy new year. Welcome back to my blog. Lots of new things in store and I’m sure we will have some fun together as we look at life through Vicky’s Tinted Spectacles.